Posted by: jesst79 | September 30, 2008

What you don’t know about My Tien

You know my mom as My Tien Tran, a woman who is looking for her father and biological family in Vietnam. My mother was also one of the first people in the US to have a hip replacement back in 1985. 

 She has also had a replacement in 1996 and had a devasting hip infection in 2002 where her hip was removed for 6 months in June 2002 and she had to use IV medication and a wheel chair before she recieved a new hip November 2002. Since then my mom has been happily with her new hip which we hope we last her a VERY LONG time!🙂

Attached are articles from National Geographic’s January 1987 issue and a undated Palo Alto Medical Foundation newsletter.

The National Geographic picture of my mom is really unattractive. I don’t know why they picked that one because if you look at the Palo Alto Medical Foundation Newsletter, it is a better picture. I was there when the pics were taken. I was about 5 years old. There was a picture of Dr Woolson holding me with my my mom but we never got the pic!

National Geographic - Jan 1987 - 1

National Geographic - Jan 1987 - 1

National Geographic - Jan 1987 - 2

National Geographic - Jan 1987 - 2

National Geographic - Jan 1987 - 3

National Geographic - Jan 1987 - 3

National Geographic - Jan 1987 - 4

National Geographic - Jan 1987 - 4

 

Undated Palo Alto Medical Foundation Newsletter

Undated Palo Alto Medical Foundation Newsletter

NOTE: My mother’s hip injury was due to the fall from the cyclo not from a birth defect. We were not aware of that until we meet with her adoptive parents in 1998 as stated in the magazine article.

If you like a copy of the articles, please send me an email (jesst79@gmail.com) and I can send you the articles. Thank you for your support🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

